01.05.2012 HIV and STIs are unevenly distributed – priorities need to be set

The National Programme on HIV and Other Sexually Transmitted Infections 2011–2017. For the first time, the National Programme is focusing on the prevention not only of new HIV infections but, explicitly, of other sexually transmitted infections (STIs) as well.

Pictures HIV and STIs are unevenly distributed – priorities need to be set

TODO CHRISTIAN

On 1 December 2010, World AIDS Day, Swiss government minister Didier Burk­halter  introduced the National Programme on HIV and Other Sexually Transmitted Infections 2011–2017 (NPHS) to the public. STIs such as syphilis, gonorrhoea or chlamydia are on the increase and are regarded as a motor of the HIV epidemic: infection with an STI increases the likelihood of contracting HIV and raises the  infectiousness of an HIV carrier.

Uneven distribution of the infectious agents in the population – prioritisation will help
In the run-up to the development of the NPHS programme, international experts (Rosenbrock et al. 2009) had been mandated by the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) to analyse the Swiss approach to HIV prevention and draw up recommendations. One key recommendation was to increase efforts wherever there is a high incidence of the virus or a higher incidence than elsewhere (“put the effort where the virus is”). This recommendation requires the setting of priorities on various levels.


Prioritisation 1: target groups

Men who have sex with men are particularly at risk
Target groups have been allocated to different intervention axes, depending on the extent to which they are at risk of becoming infected with HIV or another STI. The target group of axis 1 is the general population. In this group, successful prevention efforts had stopped an HIV epidemic from occurring. To maintain this situation, the LOVE LIFE campaign is being continued – it reaches all sexually active people in Switzerland and is the cornerstone of prevention efforts.
Intervention axis 2  targets  groups particularly affected by, or at risk of, infection with HIV or another STI: men who have sex with men (MSM), male and female sex workers, migrants from countries with an epidemic in the general population (e.g. in sub-Saharan Africa) and injecting drug users (IDUs). Male inmates of prisons are also at greater risk of contracting HIV or another STI than other men  Intervention axis 3 addresses people with HIV or an STI, and their partners. The aim is to ensure that HIV and STIs are identified and properly treated as early as possible. The FOPH therefore promotes voluntary partner information.

Prioritisation 2: cantons

Zurich and Geneva are the cantons worst affected by HIV
For prioritisation to work, it is essential to take into account  the areas in which infections occur. Over 98% of MSM and over 80% of heterosexuals who contract an HIV infection do so in cities. The worst affected cantons are Zurich, Geneva, Vaud, Basel-Stadt and Berne. It makes sense to focus financial resources primarily on the cantons in which HIV infections actually occur and where they can be successfully prevented.
A third of all HIV infections diagnosed in Switzerland occur in the canton of Zurich, with unprotected sex between men accounting for about 70% of them. The reason for this is simple: Zurich has a lively and active gay scene and functions as a centre for the surrounding cantons and neighbouring countries. Prevention of HIV and other STIs is therefore important not only for the city itself but also for the German-speaking part of Switzerland as a whole.
Geneva, on the other hand, is home to large numbers of migrants from countries in which the general population is affected by an HIV epidemic, and it therefore reports a correspondingly large number of diagnoses in this particular population group. Many cantons have, with support from the FOPH, commissioned an external evaluation of their healthcare systems to enable them to address the specific challenges facing them even more effectively and to deploy financial resources selectively.

“Break the Chain” project
When someone has been newly infected with HIV, their viral load  increases rapidly in the first few weeks and they become 20–100 times more at risk of passing on the infection than in the later course of the disease – usually without being aware of it. About half of the gay men diagnosed with a  new HIV infection have contracted the virus from a man who was currently in this primary infection phase. To interrupt such chains of transmission, the “Break the Chain” project proposes that as many MSM as possible should avoid infection risks for one month (April) and then have themselves tested along with partners with whom they do not want to practice safer sex. This would break the chains of transmission and, with no new infections occurring in April, would reduce the viral load in the community as a whole. This in turn would somewhat reduce the risk of being infected with HIV during individual episodes of unprotected sex.

The NPHS lays down the key focuses of the various players involved
The NPHS was drawn up in a participative process and is  today accepted as the basis for the activities of the organisations working in the field of HIV and STI prevention. The SGS (SEXUAL HEALTH Switzerland) and the AHS (Swiss AIDS Federation) are important partners of the FOPH in the realisation of the LOVE LIFE campaign. The efforts of the SGS, the umbrella organisation of advice centres for family planning, pregnancy, sexuality and sexual health education, are focused on the general population as well as on the campaign. It is therefore essential for the work of the SGS that the promotion of sexual rights, and efforts to achieve sexual health as defined by the WHO, are enshrined in the NPHS. The SGS attaches particular importance to the extension of the NPHS to other sexually transmitted infections.  Using  the NPHS as the  basis, the AHS is concentrating its work even more intensively on prevention activities aimed at the target groups particularly at risk, i.e. MSM, migrants and sex workers, and on combating discrimination of people with HIV.

Mini-series The National Prevention Programmes

What’s happening in tobacco, alcohol, drug and HIV/STI prevention, what’s new in nutrition and physical activity?
spectra has been highlighting the achievements in the major national prevention programmes organised by the Federal Office of Public Health:
spectra 88 – September 2011
National Tobacco Programme, 2008–2012
spectra 89 – November 2011
National Programme on Diet and Physical Activity, 2008–2012
spectra 90 – January 2012
National Alcohol Programme, 2008–2012
spectra 91 – March 2012
Third package of drug-related measures, 2007–2011
spectra 92 – May 2012
National HIV and STI Programme, 2011–2017

Contact

Roger Staub, head of Prevention and Promotion Section, roger.staub@bag.admin.ch

Nach oben

01.05.2012 Répartition inégale du VIH et des IST – il faut des priorités

Programme national VIH et autres infections sexuellement transmissibles 2011–2017. Pour la première fois, le Programme national ne vise pas seulement la prévention de nouvelles infections au VIH mais explicitement aussi la prévention d’autres infections sexuellement transmissibles (IST).

Photos Répartition inégale du VIH et des IST – il faut des priorités

TODO CHRISTIAN

Le 1er décembre 2010, Journée mondiale du sida, le Conseiller fédéral Didier Burkhalter a présenté au public le Programme national VIH et autres infections sexuellement transmissibles 2011–2017 (PNVI). En progression, des IST telles que la syphilis, la gonorrhée ou les chlamydias sont considérées comme un moteur de diffusion important de l’épidémie de VIH: une IST accroît la réceptivité au VIH et augmente l’infectiosité des personnes séropositives.

Répartition inégale des agents pathogènes dans la population – octroi de priorités
Avant le développement du programme, l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) a chargé un panel international d’experts (Rosenbrock et al. 2009) d’évaluer le système suisse en matière de
prévention du VIH et de formuler des recommandations. L’une des plus importantes consiste à intensifier les efforts là où le virus se manifeste souvent ou plus souvent («put the effort where the virus is»). Cette recommandation induit un octroi de priorités à différents niveaux.  


Priorité 1: les groupes-cibles

Les hommes ayant des rapports sexuels avec des hommes sont particulièrement vulnérables
Les groupes-cibles ont été constitués en fonction du risque qu’ils courent de s’infecter au VIH ou à une autre IST, et répartis sur plusieurs axes d’intervention: le groupe-cible de l’axe 1 est celui de la population vivant en Suisse au sein de laquelle la prévention a réussi à empêcher une épidémie de VIH. Afin que cela demeure, la campagne LOVE LIFE est poursuivie – atteignant toutes les personnes sexuellement actives en Suisse, elle constitue la base de la prévention.
L’axe d’intervention 2 s’adresse aux personnes particulièrement concernées par le VIH et les IST ou aux groupes à risque: les hommes ayant des relations sexuelles avec des hommes (HSH), les travailleurs et les travailleuses du sexe, les migrants et les migrantes de pays où l’épidémie est généralisée (p. ex. Subsahara), ainsi que les consommateurs de drogue par injection (IDU). Les hommes incarcérés présentent également un risque d’infection au VIH ou à une autre IST plus élevé que ceux qui ne le sont pas.  
L’axe d’intervention 3 s’adresse aux personnes infectées par le VIH ou une IST, ainsi qu’à leurs partenaires sexuels. Le VIH et les IST doivent être détectés dès que possible et bénéficier d’un traitement correct. C’est pourquoi l’OFSP encourage l’information volontaire des partenaires.


Priorité 2: les cantons

Les cantons de Zurich et de Genève sont le plus fortement touchés par des infections au VIH
Octroyer des priorités pertinentes suppose la prise en compte du lieu des infections: plus de 98% des HSH et plus de 80% des hétérosexuels s’infectent en milieu urbain. Les cantons de Zurich, Genève, Vaud, Bâle-Ville et Berne sont particulièrement concernés. Il est donc judicieux d’investir des moyens financiers avant tout dans les cantons où les infections au VIH ont lieu et peuvent être empêchées par la prévention.
Un tiers de toutes les infections diagnostiquées en Suisse provient du canton de Zurich, dont 70% suite à des relations sexuelles non protégées entre hommes. La raison est simple: le milieu gay est très vivant à Zurich qui est un pôle d’attraction pour les cantons environnants et les pays voisins. D’où l’importance de la prévention du VIH et des autres IST, non seulement pour la ville elle-même, mais aussi pour l’ensemble de la Suisse alémanique.  
A Genève vivent de nombreux migrants et migrantes issus de pays où l’épidémie de VIH touche l’ensemble de la population. En conséquence, Genève déclare de nombreux diagnostics dans ce groupe de population. Avec le soutien de l’OFSP, les deux cantons ont mandaté une évaluation externe de leur système de soins afin de pouvoir répondre encore mieux à leurs défis spécifiques et à investir les fonds de manière ciblée.

Projet «Break the Chain»
Lors d’une infection récente au VIH, la charge virale augmente fortement au cours des premières semaines et la personne touchée est entre 20 et 100 fois plus infectieuse que par la suite, souvent sans avoir connaissance de l’infection au VIH. Un gay sur deux environ est infecté par quelqu’un qui est devenu séropositif depuis peu et qui, donc, se trouve dans cette phase de primo-infection. Afin de briser la chaîne de transmission, le projet «Break the Chain» préconise que le plus grand nombre possible d’hommes ayant des relations sexuelles avec des hommes évitent les risques d’infection pendant un mois dans l’année (avril), puis se soumettent à un dépistage avec les partenaires avec lesquels il veulent renoncer au safer sexe. La chaîne de transmission peut ainsi être brisée  et, puisque si possible aucune nouvelle infection ne sera à déplorer en avril, la charge virale baissera dans la communauté gay. Cette action devrait également permettre de réduire le risque de s’infecter au VIH lors de contacts isolés non protégés.  

Le PNVI définit les priorités des acteurs
Le PNVI est né d’un processus participatif et sert aujourd’hui de référence aux acteurs travaillant dans la prévention du VIH et des IST. SANTE SEXUELLE Suisse et Aide Suisse contre le Sida sont les principaux partenaires avec lesquels l’OFSP réalise la campagne LOVE LIFE. SANTE SEXUELLE Suisse, organisation faîtière des centres de consultation en planning familial, grossesse, sexualité et éducation sexuelle, concentre également ses efforts sur l’ensemble de la population en dehors de la campagne. C’est pourquoi il est essentiel pour le travail de cette organisation que le PNVI consigne les droits en matière de sexualité, et s’efforce d’atteindre la santé sexuelle telle qu’elle est définie par l’OMS. SANTE SEXUELLE Suisse con­sidère comme primordial d’étendre le programme à d’autres maladies sexuelles. Aide Suisse contre le Sida s’appuie sur le PNVI pour concentrer davantage encore son travail sur la mission de prévention auprès des groupes particulièrement vulnérables HSH, population migrante et travailleurs et travailleuses du sexe, ainsi que sur la lutte contre la discrimination de personnes séropositives.

Minisérie Les programmes nationaux de prévention

Quid de la prévention du tabagisme, de l’alcoolisme, des dépendances, du VIH et autres IST? Quoi de neuf dans l’alimentation et l’activité physique? spectra présentera un bilan intermédiaire des quatre grands programmes nationaux de prévention conduits par l’Office fédéral de la santé publique:
spectra 88 – septembre 2011
Programme national Tabac, 2008–2012
spectra 89 – novembre 2011
Programme national alimentation et activité physique, 2008–2012
spectra 90 – janvier 2012
Programme national Alcool, 2008–2012
spectra 91 – mars 2012
Troisième programme de mesures en vue de réduire les problèmes de drogue (ProMeDro III), 2007–2011
spectra 92 – mai 2012
Programme national VIH et IST, 2011–2017

Contact

Roger Staub, chef Section Prévention et promotion, roger.staub@bag.admin.ch

Nach oben