Non-communicable diseases

Non-communicable diseases such as cardiovascular diseases, cancer, respiratory diseases and diabetes are currently the most common cause of deaths worldwide, and account for around 75 percent of deaths in Switzerland.

23.10.2018

Communication is an important tool for improving health literacy

The FOPH has set itself the goal of improving health literacy and self-management of chronic disease among the general public. Communication can, at various levels, help achieve this goal. more

23.10.2018

“Living Books” tell the stories of their dementia

There are currently an estimated 148,000 people in Switzerland with dementia. Among the main focal areas of Switzerland’s National Dementia Strategy 2014–2019 are efforts to improve public aware- ness of the group of diseases associated with dementia and of destigmatisation and the eradication of prejudices and inhibition thresholds for social participation. To this end, the Swiss Alzheimer Association together with the foundation Science et Cité and the FOPH are organising three special pilot events. more

23.10.2018

At first hand

Communicating credibly. Communication in the healthcare sector covers a wide spectrum of activities, ranging from the doctor-patient conversation to public health prevention campaigns. But one rule is common to all: successful communication relies on the existence of trust. more

23.10.2018

“A good relationship with the patient can achieve more than a drug can”

Communication between health professionals and their patients is an important basis for successful treatment. Particularly in the field of health promotion and disease prevention, the right kind of communication can be a decisive factor in bringing about change. Sabina Hunziker, Professor of Medical Communication at Basel’s University Hospital, therefore attaches great importance to the initial and continuing training of professionals. more

06.09.2018

Editorial – Roy Salveter.

At first hand. Who of us has never used the pedometer function on our smartphone? This function and all the other health and fitness apps that can be found on the ever-present smartphone would not have been possible without the megatrend of digitalisation. These apps can measure data from our body with utmost accuracy, whether forthe purpose of tracking our physical activity, improving our athletic performance and efficiency, recording our sleep phases or giving us nutritional recommendations. more

06.09.2018

mHealth – what opportunities are there for mobile apps in the healthcare system?

Digital change is having a profound impact on our everyday life. The smartphone is further accelerating this process. It is a constant and ubiquitous presence, and is being increasingly used in prevention and health promotion (to measure fitness and health data) as well as in everyday medical practice (measurement of vital data, coordination and disease management). Compared with other economic sectors, however, the use of apps in the medical field has some catching up to do, not least because of the more stringent requirements regarding security and protection of health-specific data. We have sought to provide you below with an insight into the possible uses of mobile health and the challenges it faces. more

02.03.2018

Improving awareness of rare diseases

Rare diseases. The subject of the 8th international Rare Disease Day in Switzerland this year is "I have a diagnosis. What happens now?" Jean-Marc Nuoffer, Chief Physician in Metabolic Analytics and head of the Interdisciplinary Metabolism Team at the Inselspital in Bern, tells us what it means to go for a long time with no diagnosis and what is urgently needed to improve matters. more

08.01.2018

Social disadvantage leads to unequal health opportunities

Health equity. Our health system is based on the fundamental principle of openness and solidarity: it must do justice to the needs of all groups in the population, irrespective of their language, origin, social status and level of education. This means that often a special effort must be made to ensure that the disadvantaged are also provided with basic health-care as well as health promotion and prevention resources. more

08.01.2018

At first hand

Editorial. The Swiss population has a long life expectancy and generally enjoys good health. The strengths of our health system include the high quality of care and the wide range of benefi ts covered by the statutory health insurance in this country. Yet there are some distinct differences in the health of various groups within the population – differences that we can infl uence and therefore do not want to accept as a matter of course. Our strategies should make a contribution to mitigating these differences so that we reach out even to the weakest members of society. more

08.01.2018

"Diversity is an enrichment and a growing reality."

Interview with Patrick Bodenmann. Equality of opportunity in hospitals does not mean providing a "one size fi ts all" treatment but one tailored to a patient's individual requirements, i.e. treatment that meets the needs of the particular health problem and the particular patient. Patrick Bodenmann is familiar with this important topic, both from a theoretical and practical point of view: as university professor, as co-founder of the Swiss Hospitals for Equity, and as head of a polyclinic at the University Hospital Lausanne. more

Maladies non transmissibles

Les maladies non transmissibles telles que les maladies cardiovasculaires, le cancer, les maladies des voies respiratoires et le diabète causent aujourd’hui la plupart des décès à l’échelle mondiale et environ 75% en Suisse.

09.11.2018

La Confédération lance la campagne « Antibiotiques : quand il faut, comme il faut »

La stratégie nationale Antibiorésistance (StAR) a pour objectif principal de garantir l’efficacité des antibiotiques pour la santé humaine et animale, et de réduire les résistances à ces substances. Lancée en 2015 et mise en œuvre par la Confédération en collaboration avec des médecins, des pharmaciens, des vétérinaires et des agriculteurs, la stratégie StAR porte ses premiers fruits : le recours aux antibiotiques a été réduit de moitié en médecine vétérinaire, et des directives en matière de prescription harmonisées au plan national sont appliquées en médecine humaine. Avec une campagne d’information et un slogan « quand il faut, comme il faut », la Confédération souhaite sensibiliser encore davantage la population. plus

23.10.2018

La communicationest un outil important pour renforcer les compétences en matière de santé

L’OFSP s’est fixé pour objectif d’améliorer les compétences de la population en matière de santé et l’autogestion des personnes atteintes de maladies chroniques. La communication peut contribuer de diverses manières à atteindre ce but. plus

23.10.2018

Des « livres humains » racontent l’histoire de leur démence

On estime qu’à ce jour, 148 000 personnes sont atteintes de démence en Suisse. Les priorités centrales de la Stratégie nationale en matière de démence 2014–2019 sont l’amélioration des connaissances de la population autour des différentes formes de démence, la déstigmatisation et l’élimination des préjugés et des obstacles à la participation sociale. À cette fin, Alzheimer Suisse organisera trois événements pilotes d’un genre particulier en collabora- tion avec Science et Cité et l’OFSP. plus

23.10.2018

En première ligne

Communiquer avec crédibilité. La communication relative aux soins de santé couvre de nombreux aspects allant de l’entretien entre médecin et patient jusqu’aux campagnes de prévention auprès de la population. Mais un principe s’applique universellement : une communication efficace repose sur la confiance. plus

23.10.2018

La multitude d’informations disponible sur Internet peut être problématique

Une étude de la Croix-Rouge suisse montre qu’en écoutant attentivement et en instaurant une relation de confiance, les professionnels peuvent améliorer les compétences de leurs patients en matière de santé. De plus, l’étude révèle que les personnes avec un faible niveau de formation sont souvent dépassées par les informations relatives à la santé trouvées sur Internet. plus

23.10.2018

« La parole est un instrument puissant »

Cinq questions à Stefan Neuner-Jehle, médecin spécialiste en médecine interne générale et responsable du programme « Coaching Santé CMPR » du Collège de Médecine de Premier Recours (CMPR) de Fribourg. Ce programme vise à former des professionnels de santé pour qu’ils conseillent les patients et promeuvent leurs compétences en matière de santé. La parole et le rôle joué par chacun sont ici la clé. plus

23.10.2018

« Une bonne relation avec le patient peut apporter davantage qu’un médicament

Selon Sabina Hunziker, professeure de communication médicale à l’Hôpital universitaire de Bâle, la communication entre professionnels de santé et patients est un élément essentiel pour un traitement efficace. Bien communiquer est un facteur décisif pour obtenir un changement, en particulier dans les domaines de la promotion de la santé et de la prévention. Madame Hunziker accorde donc une grande importance à la formation initial et continue des professionnels. plus

24.09.2018

« Une prévention adéquate devrait réduire l'influende des gènes »

Changer l’approche. Lors de la deuxième Conférence des parties prenantes Addictions organisée par l’OFSP, le Prof. David Lätsch a tenu une présentation sur le thème de l’addiction et de l’égalité des chances. Il appelle les professionnels de la prévention à privilégier les mesures qui tiennent compte de la situation personnelle plutôt que de formuler des recommandations générales. Les travaux de recherche du Prof. Lätsch se concentrent sur les enfants et les adolescents. plus

06.09.2018

mHealth égal meilleure santé ?

Forum (FMH). Êtes-vous optimiste ou pessimiste à l’égard de la mHealth? Vilipendée par ceux qui l’accusent de brouiller sécurité, sphère privée, réglementation pour finalement transformer les patients en sujets de verre et simples numéros, elle est encensée par d’autres pour son immense potentiel, notamment de prévention et de promotion de la santé. La mHealth simplifierait la communication, les processus, permettrait de toucher un public jusqu’alors en marge du système de santé, sans parler des économies qu’elle apporterait et des avantages pour la sécurité des patients. C'est sans doute à mi-chemin entre ces deux visons extrêmes qu'il faut chercher la réalité. plus

06.09.2018

Editorial - Roy Salveter

En première ligne. Qui n’a jamais utilisé la fonction podomètre sur son smartphone ? La numérisation galopante a permis son essor, à l’instar de toutes les autres applications relatives à la santé ou au fitness accessibles en permanence. Ces applications mesurent notre organisme avec précision, que ce soit pour décrire l’activité physique, augmenter les performances sportives, accroître son efficience, capter les phases du sommeil ou fournir des recommandations en matière d’alimentation. plus